Statement in Support of Our Jewish Students, Colleagues, and Neighbors – Jay Phillips Center News
2022-2023, News, Statement, Uncategorized

Statement in Support of Our Jewish Students, Colleagues, and Neighbors

With Steve Hunegs, executive director of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Minnesota and the Dakotas (JCRC), the Jay Phillips Center for Interreligious Studies at the University of St. Thomas “condemns the distribution of noxious propaganda fliers in neighborhoods across the Twin Cities metro area. Compounding this ugly antisemitism is the invasion of tranquil neighborhoods during the night.” The Jay Phillips Center is committed to the ongoing work of supporting, welcoming, and learning from our Jewish students, colleagues, and neighbors.

In addition to the pursuit of knowledge and practical wisdom, the Jay Phillips Center remains committed to fostering constructive engagement between and among individuals and communities who orient around religion differently for the flourishing of all in a religiously diverse Minnesota. This includes working to build a university community at St. Thomas where members from all religious and non-religious orientations feel welcome to safely and freely practice their traditions without fear and prejudice.

University personnel co-signees (listed alphabetically by surname):

  • Cara Anthony, Associate Professor, Theology Department
  • Ryan Avenido, BA ’21, BM ‘21
  • Linda Baughman, Dean of Students
  • Father Lawrence Blake, Chaplain and Director of Campus Ministry
  • Dr. Corrine Carvalho, Professor
  • Meliha Ceric, Adjunct Faculty, History Department
  • Rev. Chris Collins, S.J., Vice President for Mission
  • Fr. Timothy Combs, OP, Associate Campus Minister & Adjunct in Theology
  • Erin M. Curran, Associate Dean of the Morrison Family College of Health & Associate Professor of Applied Statistics
  • Rabbi Dr. Ryan Dulkin, Adjunct Professor, Theology Department
  • Hans Gustafson, Director, Jay Phillips Center for Interreligious Studies
  • Benjamin Heidgerken, Theology Department
  • Dr. Mike Klein, Associate Professor and Program Director, Justice and Peace Studies
  • David Landry, Professor, Theology Department
  • Karen Lange, Vice-President for Student Affairs
  • Dalma Martinović-Weigelt, Professor, Biology Department
  • Mark McInroy, Associate Chair, Theology Department
  • Rev. Steven J. McMichael, OFM Conv., Theology Department
  • Christopher Wong Michaelson, Opus Distinguished Professor of Principled Leadership
  • Susan Myers, Associate Professor, Theology Department
  • Deborah Organ, Adjunct Faculty in Theology and Director of the Lay Ministry Certificate in Spanish
  • Dr. David Penchansky, Emeritus, Theology Department
  • Daniel Pioske, Assistant Professor, Theology Department
  • Delaney Sacia, Student Interfaith Fellow and Interfaith Council rep., class of 2023
  • Dr. Sadaf Rauf Shier, Muslim Chaplain, Campus Ministry
  • Cia Sautter, Ph.D. Theology Department
  • William B. Tolman, Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Muffet Trout, Associate Professor, Department of Teacher Education
  • Mary Twite, Senior Adjunct Instructor, Theology Department & First-Year Experience Changemaking Theme Coordinator
  • Ted Ulrich, Professor, Department of Theology
  • Kimberly Vrudny, Chair, Theology Department
  • Carissa S. Wyant, Adjunct Faculty, Theology Department
  • Wendy N. Wyatt, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Professor of Media Ethics
  • Kha Yang, Assoc. VP for Inclusive Excellence, Office for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • UST Personnel: to add your name, submit request to
Previous Post Next Post

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: GD image support not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable GD image support for PHP.

ERROR: si-captcha.php plugin: imagepng function not detected in PHP!

Contact your web host and ask them to enable imagepng for PHP.